The Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) was started in 1981 to honour journalistic excellence and achievement in print and electronic news in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland/Labrador. Close to 1,100 individual journalists have been honoured since the inception of the AJAs. Today a volunteer Board of Directors representing a wide range of news outlets directs the AJAs. The program is funded by a number of partners and contributors. Judging is conducted by independent panels of judges and the awards are presented at a gala awards ceremony in the spring.


  • Kevin Ward - AJAs Chair, Chief of Atlantic Services, The Canadian Press
  • Mark Campbell, Director News and Programming, Rogers Radio Atlantic
  • Glenn Deir, Journalist, NL
  • Brian Ward, The Chronicle Herald
  • Mark Dwyer, Director of News and Current Affairs, NTV 
  • Kelly Gallant, Associate Vice-President Communications and Marketing, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Janet Gallant, Senior Account Executive, Atlantic Region, CNW Group
  • Peter Haggert, Editor-in-Chief, Metroland Media Toronto
  • Jim Haskins, Station Manager/News Director, Global Maritimes
  • Fred Hutton, News Director, VOCM, St. John's NL
  • Tracy Kenney, Director of Communication, Atlantic Lottery
  • Tara Laing, Communications Manager, Marine Atlantic, St. John's, NL
  • Gary MacDougall, Managing Editor, The Charlottetown Guardian, PEI
  • Megan Greenslade, Nalcor Energy
  • Gerry Phelan, Journalist, St. John's, NL
  • Tracy Taweel, Assistant Deputy Minister, Communications Nova Scotia
  • Denise Wilson, Regional Director, CBC Atlantic, Halifax, NS
  • Patrick Brethour,  Editor-in-chief, Brunswick News


  • Ted Bartlett, Editorial ConsultantCaribou Communications
  • Brad Burrell, Regional Sales Manager, FrischkornMEDIACO
  • Malcolm Fitzgerald, Sales Manager, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
  • Jamie Irving, Vice-President, Brunswick News Inc.
  • David Murray , COO, Newcap Radio Inc.

Atlantic Journalism Awards Contact

Bill Skerrett - Executive Director
E-mail: bmskerrett@aol.com
Telephone: 902.478.6026

Natalie Clifford - Associate Director
Email: ajas.natalie@gmail.com
Telephone: 902.240.4080

AJAs Office
Email: office@AJAs.ca
Website: www.AJAs.ca

46 Swanton Drive
Dartmouth, NS B2W 2C5 

Home | Supporters | Organizers | Past Years |
News Releases | Category Definitions | Rules

The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact Bill Skerrett at the AJAs office: (Tel) 902-425-2727; (Email) office@AJAs.ca