View Complete April 28, 2018 Gala Awards Show

View/listen to all 2017 finalists

view atlantic journalism hall of fame inductees

click titles above to view


AJAs Announces 2017 Finalists

HALIFAX, April 28, 2018 /CNW/ - A celebration of excellence in Atlantic Canadian journalism was held tonight during the 37th Atlantic Journalism Awards, at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel. The gold and silver awards were as follows full story...

Five Inducted into Atlantic Journalism Hall of Fame

HALIFAX, April 16, 2018 /CNW/ - The new Atlantic Journalism Hall of Fame will be officially launched at the Atlantic Journalism Awards gala dinner and awards show on April 28, 2018 at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel.  Five Atlantic Canadian journalists and journalism builders will be inducted into the Hall of Fame. full story...

AJAs Announces Student Winners

HALIFAX, April 12, 2018 /CNW/ - Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) is pleased to announce this year's student award winners. Each year independent panels of judges, armed with various selection criteria, review submissions from students in journalism education programs throughout the Atlantic region, selecting one winner per category. full story...

AJAs Launches Journalism Hall of Fame

HALIFAX, Jan. 9, 2018 /CNW/ - The Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) is pleased to announce that it has created the Atlantic Journalism Hall of Fame to recognize journalists and journalism builders who have made a significant contribution to the profession of journalism. full story...

AJAs Deadline Approaching

HALIFAX, Jan. 4, 2018 /CNW/ - Journalists in Atlantic Canada are encouraged to submit their stories and images by midnight February 1, 2018 to the Atlantic Journalism Awards 37th annual competition.  full story...

FeatherWhat are the AJAs ?

The Atlantic Journalism Awards, established in 1981, is a highly regarded annual program which recognizes journalistic excellence and achievement in print and electronic news media in Atlantic Canada. The AJAs is a federally incorporated non-profit organization and is directed by a volunteer industry Board of Directors. The project is financed by a number of supporters.

In recent years close to 400 entries have been received from Atlantic Canadian journalists in the 23 print, radio, and television categories. There are also a number of journalism student awards. Entries are submitted in English et aussi en francais.

Finalists are selected from the entries by panels of independent judges. They are recognized at provincial AJAs luncheons. The overall winners will be announced at a gala dinner and awards ceremomy in early May.

Since the inception of the AJAs, nearly 1,400 individual Atlantic Canadian journalists have been honoured for their journalistic excellence.

The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact Bill Skerrett at the AJAs office: office@AJAs.ca